Dr. Ivan Zinger
Correctional Investigator of Canada

Photo of Howard Sapers

Dr. Ivan Zinger received his degree in Common Law from the University of Ottawa in 1992, and completed his articles of clerkship at the Federal Court of Canada. In 1999, he obtained his Ph.D. at Carleton University (Ottawa) in Psychology of Criminal Conduct. He is an Adjunct Professor with the Law Department at Carleton University.

Dr. Zinger joined the Public Service of Canada in 1996.  He held a variety of senior managerial, policy and research positions in public safety-related federal departments and agencies. In 2004, he joined his current employer, the Office of the Correctional Investigator (Federal Prison Ombudsman), and in 2009 he became the Executive Director and General Counsel. As of January 1, 2017, Dr. Zinger was appointed as Correctional Investigator of Canada pursuant to section 161 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act.

Over the years, Dr. Zinger has developed expertise in domestic and international human rights law in prison settings. His academic publications are significant and include articles on a variety of subjects, including prison oversight, ethics, dangerous offenders, correctional treatment, the diagnosis of psychopathy, conditional release, penal segregation and the impact of tough on crime measures on corrections. 

Dr. Zinger is the recipient of the 2014 APEX Partnership Award for “making communities safer by building strong and effective partnerships across the country and abroad, contributing to the development of more effective correctional practices in Canada.”  This prestigious award is one of six presented annually by the Association of Professional Executives in the Public Service of Canada (APEX).

M. Ivan Zinger
Enquêteur correctionnel du Canada

Photo de Howard Sapers

M. Ivan Zinger a obtenu un diplôme en common law de l’Université d’Ottawa en 1992 et il a terminé son stage comme adjoint judiciaire à la Cour fédérale du Canada. En 1999, il a obtenu un doctorat de l’Université Carleton (Ottawa) en psychologie du comportement criminel. Il est professeur auxiliaire au département de droit de l’Université Carleton.

M. Zinger est entré à la fonction publique en 1996, et depuis a occupé divers postes supérieurs en politiques et en recherches dans des ministères et des organismes fédéraux de sécurité publique. Il est également reconnu comme un expert des droits de la personne et du droit carcéral à l’échelle nationale et internationale. En 2004, il commence à travailler au Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel (ombudsman pour les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale), à titre de directeur des politiques et d’avocat principal. En 2009, il est devenu le directeur exécutif et avocat général pour cet organisme et a été nommé Enquêteur correctionnel du Canada en vertu de l’article 161 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition à partir du 1er janvier 2017.

M. Zinger a publié des articles académiques sur divers sujets, notamment l’éthique, la surveillance des autorités correctionnelles, les droits de la personne, les délinquants dangereux, les questions liées au traitement et à la réhabilitation, la mise en liberté, l’isolement en milieu carcéral, la psychopathie, et l’impacte sur les services correctionnels de politiques sévères en matière du maintien de l’ordre.

M. Zinger est le récipiendaire du Prix de partenariat 2014 de l'Association des cadres supérieurs de la fonction publique du Canada (APEX) pour avoir « contribué à rehausser la sécurité des collectivités canadiennes en établissant des partenariats solides et efficaces et en contribuant à la mise en place de pratiques correctionnelles plus efficaces. »