BACKGROUNDER
44th Annual Report to Parliament

Overview

This is the first Annual Report to Parliament issued by Dr. Ivan Zinger, who has served as Correctional Investigator since January 1, 2017. 

The report makes 17 recommendations and contains a special focus on the Secure Units (maximum security) at the five Regional Women’s Facilities.

Special Focus on the Secure Units at the Regional Women’s Facilities

  • Maximum security women represent just over 10% of the overall federally sentenced women population.  Indigenous women represent 50% of the maximum security population in federal women’s corrections.
  • These women reside in what are called “Secure Units.”  Each unit is divided into pods of 4 or 6 cells.  Some are equipped to accommodate double bunking.  Given its maximum security status, the segregation unit is physically located in the Secure Unit, as a separate wing.
  • Women struggling with mental health issues are more likely to be classified maximum security and placed in the Secure Units.  The close and cramped living arrangements and maladaptive behavior associated with mental health distress often have a negative impact on daily routines (cell reassignments, lockdowns), leading to tension, frustration, conflict and a general sense of personal insecurity among the women.  The environment is not therapeutic and does not employ a trauma-informed approach.
  • Women residing in the Secure Units are subject to a discriminatory classification system that regulates access to other parts (medium security) of the institution where services and amenities are located.  Effectively, participation in education, programs and other “privileges,” such as gym or library, can be denied based on their level of risk or behaviour.  Some women are shackled to walk through the institution to attend health care.  Others turn down visits with their children because they do not want to be seen in handcuffs or leg irons.  They can be subject to strip searches every time they return to their unit.  This system is unique to women’s corrections; male offenders are not subject to the same restrictions.

Other Conditions of Confinement Issues

Safe and Humane Custody

  • While still under investigation, the riot at Saskatchewan Penitentiary in December 2016 highlighted several possible triggering events, many related to the conditions of confinement within the institution (i.e. dissatisfaction with food and the perceived mistreatment of inmate kitchen workers such as pay, hours, incentives by correctional staff).  Saskatchewan Penitentiary houses a population that comprises nearly two-thirds (64%) Indigenous inmates.  
  • The current fleet of prison transport vehicles does not meet personal or industry safety standards. Essentially retrofitted and modified family minivans (e.g. Dodge Caravan), these vehicles, which were never designed or crash-tested for the purpose that they serve, contain a metal enclosure where prisoners ride shackled without seatbelts.  Their design is substandard and unsafe for both inmates and staff alike.
  • The Office closely followed the case of a transgender inmate over the past year that spent most of their sentence (over 10 years) in a facility representing their assigned sex at birth.  The inmate attempted suicide, self-mutilated genitalia, took pills bought from other inmates and ultimately fell into depression as a result of the treatment and lack of movement on the part of the Correctional Service with respect to the inmate’s sex change.  The inmate died from medical complications not long after being transferred to an institution representing their gender identity.     

Health Care

  • There is no stand-alone treatment facility for federally sentenced women.  As an emergency measure, an acutely mentally ill woman can be transferred to an all-male treatment centre where she is separated, alone and held in segregation-like conditions.  This practice, however temporary, is unacceptable and contravenes international human rights standards. 
  • The use of physical restraints, clinical seclusion, and segregation to manage people in serious psychological distress remains problematic.  Placing suicidal or self-injurious people in observation cells that minimally provide for the necessities to preserve human life (security gown, security blanket, fluids and food that can be consumed without cutlery, hygiene items at discretion) fails to recognize that confinement of this nature may actually promote or deepen psychological distress and/or lead to further or even more lethal acts of self-injury or attempts to end life.  The report calls on the Correctional Service to restrict the use of clinical seclusion and physical restraints (Pinel Restraints) to designated treatment centres where they can be used exceptionally, sparingly and only by authorization of health care professionals. 
  • The report highlights two cases which demonstrate that there continues to be gaps in how correctional staff recognize and respond to situations of medical emergency or mental health distress.  In one case, an inmate is left lying unresponsive and motionless following an assault for more than five minutes, despite the fact that correctional staff had handcuffed and escorted the instigator from the scene.  In a second case, following a use of force involving the use of inflammatory spray, an inmate collapses in the decontamination shower (possibly as a result of an allergic reaction to pepper spray) and is left in medical distress for a prolonged period before the camera operator recording the incident calls for assistance. 

Administrative Segregation

  • On January 1, 2017, there were 391 inmates in administrative segregation (2.76% of the total inmate population) compared with 780 in April 2014.  The average stay in segregation has significantly declined from 34.5 days in 2014/15 to 23.1 days in 2016/17.  Despite the declines in segregation numbers and duration of stay, there continue to be issues with respect to the over-representation of Indigenous inmates in segregation, access to basic activities, services and programming and the use of segregation ‘lite’ units. 

Prison Food

  • Reductions in spending on food in federal prisons and the resulting ‘cook-chill’ model continue to generate complaints to the Office, particularly with respect to food portion size (especially protein), quality, selection and substitution of items.  The per diem daily cost for food is fixed at $5.41.  In some institutions, food has become part of the underground economy, where it is bought, bartered and sold for other items.

Inmate Complaints and Grievances

  • Timely and appropriate response to legitimate inmate requests or complaints affecting everyday conditions and routines behind bars – access to canteen, mail delivery, lost, damaged or confiscated personal effects, meal times, access to visits and visitors, out-of-cell time – are often unreasonably delayed or not answered at all.  The internal complaints and grievance system is dysfunctional, plagued by sizable backlogs and unable to effect change or address legitimate issues.
  • On an annual basis, more than 4,500 grievances make their way up to the national level.  In 2015-16, more than half of these required more than 150 working days or more to resolve.  My Office tracked grievance decisions that were delayed as many as 14 different times; in some cases, wait periods inexplicably extended beyond three years.  Egregious delays like this clearly do not respect the Service’s legal obligation to settle offender grievances in a fair, forthright and timely manner. 

Prison Work and Employment

  • Approximately 60% of inmates at admission to federal custody have an identified employment need.  Far too many inmates are engaged in menial employment or are not working at all.  While there are some good quality CORCAN shops offering vocational training, prison industries employ less than 10% of the inmate population at any one time.  Federally sentenced women in particular lack meaningful employment opportunities behind bars.  They are almost exclusively employed in gendered, stereotyped jobs such as textiles, laundry and sewing.

Other Issues of Concern

In 2016-17, the Office undertook a series of priority reviews and investigations in the following areas:

  1. Timely and appropriate recognition and response to medical emergencies in federal prisons.
  2. Alternatives to incarceration for seriously mentally ill offenders.
  3. Safeguards on the use of chemical and inflammatory agents in use of force interventions.
  4. Embedding gender identity and gender expression in federal correctional policy and practice.
  5. Implications of Medical Assistance in Dying legislation for federal corrections.
  6. Treatment of older/aging offenders.
  7. Prison visits and visitor program.

Key Recommendations

  1. Lessons learned from the National Board of Investigation into the December major disturbance at Saskatchewan Penitentiary should be widely circulated within CSC and released as a public document.
  2. CSC should issue a Request for Proposal to fund or expand community bed treatment capacity to accommodate up to 12 federally sentenced women requiring an intensive level of mental health intervention, care and supervision.
  3. The Minister of Public Safety request that the Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security conduct a special study on inmate work and prison industries (CORCAN).
  4. CSC should expand capacity of the Structured Living Environment to allow for women with mental health needs to be integrated and accommodated in more appropriate and therapeutic settings. 
  5. CSC should conduct an external audit of food services and that the concerns of the inmate population related to potion size, quality, selection and substitution of food items are solicited, heard and addressed immediately by CSC management.

DOCUMENT D’INFORMATION
44e Rapport annuel au Parlement

Aperçu

Il s’agit du premier rapport annuel au Parlement publié par le Dr Ivan Zinger, qui agit comme enquêteur correctionnel depuis le 1er janvier 2017.

Le rapport fait 17 recommandations et contient un volet spécial sur les unités de garde en milieu fermé (sécurité maximale) des cinq établissements régionaux pour délinquantes.

Volet spécial sur les unités de garde en milieu fermé des établissements régionaux pour délinquantes

  • Les délinquantes classées au niveau de sécurité maximale représentent un peu plus de 10 % de la population générale de délinquantes purgeant une peine de ressort fédéral. Les délinquantes autochtones représentent 50 % de la population de délinquantes classées au niveau de sécurité maximale dans les établissements correctionnels fédéraux pour délinquantes.
  • Ces délinquantes sont placées dans ce qu’on appelle des « unités de garde en milieu fermé ». Chaque unité est divisée en modules de quatre ou six cellules. Certaines cellules peuvent être occupées par deux délinquantes. Étant donné le niveau de sécurité maximale de l’établissement, l’unité d’isolement est située dans l’unité de garde en milieu fermé, en tant qu’aile distincte.
  • Les délinquantes aux prises avec des problèmes de santé mentale sont plus susceptibles d’être classées au niveau de sécurité maximale et placées dans les unités de garde en milieu fermé. Les conditions de vie restreintes et en étroite proximité avec d’autres et les comportements inadaptés associés à la détresse psychologique nuisent souvent aux routines quotidiennes (réaffectations de cellules, confinement aux cellules) et donnent lieu à de la tension, à de la frustration, à des conflits et à un sentiment d’insécurité général chez les délinquantes. L’environnement n’est pas thérapeutique, et on n’a pas recours à une approche fondée sur le traumatisme.
  • Les délinquantes placées dans les unités de garde en milieu fermé sont soumises à un système de classement discriminatoire qui réglemente l’accès à d’autres secteurs (à sécurité moyenne) de l’établissement où les services et les commodités sont situés. La participation à des cours ou à des programmes ou l’accès à d’autres « privilèges », comme le conditionnement physique ou la bibliothèque, peut effectivement être refusé d’après le niveau de risque ou le comportement des délinquantes. Certaines délinquantes sont menottées pour se déplacer dans l’établissement afin de recevoir des soins de santé. D’autres refusent les visites de leurs enfants, car elles ne veulent pas être vues avec des menottes ou des entraves. Elles peuvent faire l’objet de fouilles à nu chaque fois qu’elles retournent à leur unité. Ce système est réservé aux établissements correctionnels pour délinquantes; les délinquants ne sont pas soumis aux mêmes restrictions.

Autres problèmes liés aux conditions de détention

Traitement sécuritaire et humain des détenus

  • Bien qu’elle fasse toujours l’objet d’une enquête, l’émeute au Pénitencier de la Saskatchewan en décembre 2016 a mis en lumière plusieurs événements déclencheurs possibles, bon nombre d’entre eux étant liés aux conditions de détention dans l’établissement (c.-à-d. l’insatisfaction liée à la nourriture et la perception de mauvais traitements des détenus travaillant à la cuisine, notamment la paye, les heures de travail et les mesures incitatives de la part du personnel correctionnel). Le Pénitencier de la Saskatchewan héberge une population comptant presque deux tiers (64 %) de détenus autochtones.
  • Le parc actuel de véhicules servant au transport dans les prisons ne répond pas aux normes de sécurité personnelle et de sécurité de l’industrie. Il s’agit essentiellement de minifourgonnettes familiales adaptées et modifiées (p. ex. un Dodge Caravan), et ces véhicules, qui n’ont jamais été conçus pour le but auquel ils sont destinés ou qui n’ont jamais fait l’objet d’essais de collision, comprennent un enclos en métal où les prisonniers sont transportés, menottés et sans ceinture de sécurité. La conception de ces véhicules ne répond pas aux normes et est non sécuritaire, tant pour les détenus que pour le personnel.
  • Au cours de la dernière année, le Bureau a suivi de près le dossier d’un détenu transgenre qui a purgé la majeure partie de sa peine (plus de dix ans) dans un établissement l’identifiant selon son sexe à la naissance. Le détenu a tenté de se suicider, s’est mutilé les organes génitaux, a avalé des pilules achetées auprès d’autres détenus et a finalement sombré dans la dépression à la suite du traitement et du manque d’intervention de la part du Service correctionnel concernant le changement de sexe du détenu. Le détenu est décédé à la suite de complications médicales peu de temps après son transfert vers un établissement qui tenait compte de son identité sexuelle.

Soins de santé

  • Il n’existe aucun établissement de traitement autonome pour les délinquantes purgeant une peine de ressort fédéral. Comme mesure d’urgence, une délinquante atteinte de graves troubles mentaux peut être transférée dans un centre de traitement pour délinquants où elle est séparée des autres et maintenue dans des conditions semblables à l’isolement. Cette pratique, même si elle est temporaire, est inacceptable et va à l’encontre des normes internationales en matière de droits de la personne.
  • L’utilisation de contraintes physiques, l’isolement clinique et l’isolement en vue de gérer les personnes présentant une forte détresse psychologique demeurent problématiques. Placer des personnes suicidaires ou qui se mutilent dans des cellules d’observation qui prévoient les nécessités minimales pour préserver la vie (jaquette de sécurité, couverture de sécurité, liquides et nourriture pouvant être consommés sans ustensile, articles d’hygiène à la discrétion de celui qui les autorise) fait abstraction du fait qu’une détention de cette nature pourrait en réalité favoriser ou aggraver la détresse psychologique ou mener à d’autres actes d’automutilation ou à de tels actes qui entraîneraient la mort ou à des tentatives de s’enlever la vie. Le rapport demande au Service correctionnel de restreindre l’utilisation de l’isolement clinique et des contraintes physiques (système de contraintes Pinel) aux centres de traitement désignés où on ne peut y recourir que dans des cas exceptionnels, avec discrétion et uniquement avec l’autorisation de professionnels de la santé.
  • Le rapport met en évidence deux cas qui démontrent que les méthodes que le personnel correctionnel emploie pour reconnaître les situations d’urgence médicale ou de détresse psychologique et intervenir dans celles-ci comportent encore des lacunes. Dans un premier cas, on a laissé au sol pendant plus de cinq minutes un détenu ne réagissant pas et ne bougeant pas à la suite d’une agression, malgré le fait que le personnel correctionnel avait menotté l’instigateur et l’avait escorté loin de la scène. Dans un second cas, à la suite du recours à la force impliquant l’utilisation d’un aérosol inflammatoire, un détenu s’effondre dans la douche de décontamination (possiblement à la suite d’une réaction allergique à l’aérosol de OC) et est laissé dans un état de détresse d’ordre médical pendant une période prolongée avant que l’opérateur de la caméra enregistrant l’incident appelle les secours.

Isolement préventif

  • Le 1er janvier 2017, 391 détenus étaient en isolement préventif (2,76 % de la population totale de détenus), comparativement à 780 en avril 2014. La durée moyenne du séjour en isolement a chuté considérablement, passant de 34,5 jours en 2014-2015 à 23,1 jours en 2016-2017. Malgré la diminution du nombre de détenus et de la durée du séjour en isolement, les problèmes persistent en ce qui concerne la surreprésentation des détenus autochtones en isolement, l’accès aux activités, aux services et aux programmes de base, et l’utilisation d’unités d’isolement « allégé ».

La nourriture en prison

  • La réduction des dépenses de nourriture dans les prisons fédérales et la technique de cuisson-refroidissement qui en découle continuent de générer des plaintes au Bureau, particulièrement en ce qui concerne la taille des portions (surtout les protéines), la qualité, la sélection et la substitution des aliments. Le coût quotidien pour les aliments est fixé à 5,41 $. Dans certains établissements, les aliments font maintenant partie de l’économie clandestine, où on les achète, les échange et les vend contre d’autres articles.

Plaintes et griefs des détenus

  • Une réponse rapide et appropriée aux demandes ou aux plaintes légitimes des détenus qui influent sur les conditions et les routines quotidiennes derrière les barreaux – que ce soit l’accès à la cantine, la livraison du courrier, les effets personnels perdus, endommagés ou confisqués, l’heure des repas, l’accès aux visites et aux visiteurs, le temps passé hors de la cellule – est souvent reportée de manière déraisonnable ou carrément absente. La procédure interne de règlement des plaintes et des griefs est dysfonctionnelle, comporte des retards considérables et ne permet pas d’effectuer des changements ou de régler des problèmes légitimes.
  • Annuellement, plus de 4 500 griefs ont été acheminés au palier national. En 2015-2016, plus de la moitié d’entre eux ont été réglés en plus 150 jours ouvrables. Mon Bureau a fait le suivi des décisions liées aux griefs qui ont été reportées jusqu’à 14 fois; dans certains cas, les périodes d’attente s’échelonnaient, sans raison, sur plus de trois ans. Il est évident que des retards aussi flagrants vont à l’encontre de l’obligation légale qu’a le Service de régler les griefs des délinquants de façon équitable, directe et rapide.  

Travail et emploi en prison

  • Pour environ 60 % des délinquants, des besoins en matière d’emploi sont cernés à leur admission dans un établissement correctionnel fédéral. Un trop grand nombre de détenus exécutent de menus travaux ou ne travaillent pas du tout. Même si des ateliers CORCAN de bonne qualité offrent une formation professionnelle utile, des ateliers industriels dans les prisons emploient moins de 10 % des détenus à un moment donné. En particulier, les délinquantes purgeant une peine de ressort fédéral n’ont pas accès à des possibilités d’emploi intéressantes derrière les barreaux. Elles occupent presque exclusivement des emplois en fonction du sexe et de stéréotypes, par exemple dans les domaines du textile, du blanchissage et de la couture.

Autres sujets de préoccupation

En 2016-2017, le Bureau a entrepris une série d’examens et d’enquêtes prioritaires dans les domaines suivants :

  1. Reconnaissance appropriée et en temps opportun des cas d’urgence médicale dans les prisons fédérales et intervention liée à ceux-ci;
  2. Autres moyens d’incarcération pour les délinquants aux prises avec de graves troubles mentaux;
  3. Mesures de protection sur l’utilisation d’agents chimiques et inflammatoires lors d’interventions où il y a recours à la force;
  4. Intégrer l’identité de genre et l’expression de genre aux politiques et aux pratiques correctionnelles fédérales;
  5. Conséquences de la législation sur l’aide médicale à mourir pour les établissements correctionnels fédéraux;
  6. Traitement des délinquants plus âgés et vieillissants;
  7. Visites en prison et programme des visiteurs. 

Principales recommandations

  1. Les leçons retenues du Comité d’enquête nationale sur les troubles majeurs survenus en décembre 2016 au Pénitencier de la Saskatchewan devraient être largement transmises au sein du SCC et diffusées en tant que document public.
  2. Le SCC devrait faire une demande de propositions pour le financement ou l’augmentation de la capacité de places pour traitement dans la collectivité afin d’accueillir jusqu’à douze délinquantes purgeant une peine de ressort fédéral qui requièrent de façon intensive des interventions, des soins et une supervision en matière de santé mentale.
  3. Le ministre de la Sécurité publique devrait demander que le Comité permanent de la sécurité publique et nationale (SECU) procède à une étude spéciale sur le travail des détenus et les ateliers industriels dans les prisons (CORCAN).
  4. Le SCC devrait accroître la capacité des milieux de vie structurés afin de permettre aux délinquantes ayant des besoins en santé mentale d’être intégrées et accueillies dans un environnement thérapeutique plus approprié.
  5. Le SCC devrait effectuer une vérification externe des services d’alimentation, et la direction du SCC devrait recueillir et écouter les préoccupations des détenus quant à la taille des portions, à la qualité, à la sélection et à la substitution des aliments et donner suite immédiatement à ces préoccupations.