Terms and Conditions

Government of Canada Privacy Statement

The Government of Canada (GoC) and the Office of the Correctional Investigator (OCI) are committed to respecting the personal privacy of individuals who visit our Web sites. This page summarizes the privacy policy and practices of the Office of the Correctional Investigator Web sites.

The Office of the Correctional Investigator does not automatically gather any personal information from you, such as your name, phone number, e-mail or street address during your visit to its Web sites. This information is only obtained if you supply it voluntarily, usually through contacting us via e-mail, or registering in a secure portion of the site.

All personal information you do provide is protected under the federal Privacy Act. This means that, at the point of collection, you will be informed that your personal information is being collected, the purpose for which it is being collected and that you have a right of access to the information.

Visitor information is not disclosed to anyone except the Office of the Correctional Investigator personnel who need the information to respond to a request. The information you give us will be shared with another government department ONLY if your inquiry relates to that department. We do not use the information to create individual profiles, nor do we disclose the information to anyone outside those who need to provide you with a response in the federal government.

The Office of the Correctional Investigator Web sites sometimes deposit cookies on visitor's computers. Cookies are commonly used tool to enable Web developers to fine-tune the site based on user-activity trends. The cookies store information about your computer as reflected below. They act as a generic label to allow us to tell how you navigate within our site, which helps us to determine how we might improve it.

The cookies are set to reside on your computer for a number of years as imposed by the Internet Server technology which the OCI uses for its Web sites. Cookies are used to help us understand Web site traffic. Information collected with the assistance of cookies is stored in standard Web server log files and log reports are generated on a monthly basis.

As well, cookies can store information visitors may provide about what is or isn't important to them, assisting us in focussing our efforts on information you need. For this type of cookie you will be explicitly asked to provide the information, you will be given the choice of doing so, and your ability to use the site will not be dependent on your choice.

Here is the list of information we collect during your visit on our site:

  • The name of your Internet service provider, its IP address, and the name of your service provider's server. The Office of the Correctional Investigator makes no attempt to link these addresses with the identity of individuals visiting our site;
  • The length of each visit;
  • The number of requests per visit;
  • Your type of operating system (Windows, Macintosh, Unix, etc.); and,
  • Your browser type (Firefox, Internet Explorer, etc.).

We do not link this information with any of the information you voluntarily provide when you visit our site without explicit notification to the contrary.

A cookie is a small text file that is stored on your hard drive. During your visit to any Web site your browser exchanges information with the Web site's server. Cookies facilitate this exchange by reminding the server which computer is making the request. You do not need to accept cookies to visit our site.

You can set your browser to detect and reject cookies.

If you use Internet Explorer:

  • Choose the Tools menu entry, then Internet Options.
  • Select the Security tab, then click the zone you'd like to change, followed by the Custom button.
  • Scroll down to the header titled Cookies, and choose how you'd like to handle cookies. You can choose to accept cookies from all sites, refuse to accept any, or be prompted whenever a site wants to send you a cookie.

If you are using Firefox, you can choose whether or not to accept a cookie by:

  • Going to Tools, choose Options then select Privacy.
  • Choose how you'd like to handle cookies with the option "Accept cookies from sites".

For less common browsers, please refer to the browser help contents

Questions or comments regarding this policy, or the administration of the Privacy Act at the Office of the Correctional Investigator may be directed to Access to Information and Privacy Administrative Services by e-mail to Louise.Cormier@ps.gc.ca or by calling 613-949-0360. If you are not satisfied that we have adequately respected your privacy, you may wish to contact the Office of the Privacy Commissioner by calling 1-800-282-1376 or via the Internet at http://www.priv.gc.ca.

 

Official Languages Notice

The Office of the Correctional Investigator respects the Official Languages Act and the relevant Treasury Board policies, and is committed to ensuring all information and services on this site is available in both English and French (or in one language only if a unilingual office). However, users should be aware that some information from external sources that are not subject to the Official Languages Act is only provided as a convenience and is available only in the language in which it was provided.

 

Hyperlinking Notice

Links to Web sites not under the control of the Government of Canada (GoC) are provided solely for the convenience of users. The GoC is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or the reliability of the content. The GoC does not offer any guarantee in that regard and is not responsible for the information found through these links, nor does it endorse the sites and their content.

Users should be aware that information offered by non-GoC sites that are not subject to the Official Languages Act and to which the Office of the Correctional Investigator links, may be available only in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

 

Copyright/Permission to Reproduce

Materials on this Web site were produced and/or compiled by the Office of the Correctional Investigator for the purpose of providing Canadians with direct access to information about the programs and services offered by the Government of Canada.

The material on this site is covered by the provisions of the Copyright Act, by Canadian laws, policies, regulations and international agreements. Such provisions serve to identify the information source and, in specific instances, to prohibit reproduction of materials without written permission.

Non-commercial Reproduction

  • Information on this Web site has been posted with the intent that it be readily available for personal or public non-commercial use and may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified.
  • Users are required to:
    • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
    • Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced, as well as the author organization; and
    • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Government of Canada and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of the Government of Canada.
  • Unless otherwise specified, this authorization is also applicable to all published information regardless of its format.

Commercial Reproduction

Reproduction of multiple copies of materials on this site, in whole or in part, for the purposes of commercial redistribution is prohibited except with written permission from the Government of Canada's copyright administrator, Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC). Through the permission-granting process, PWGSC helps to ensure that individuals / organizations wishing to reproduce Government of Canada materials for commercial purposes have access to the most accurate, up-to-date versions.

To obtain permission to reproduce materials on this site for commercial purposes, please go to PWGSC's "Applying for Copyright Clearance on Government of Canada Works" page.

Public Works and Government Services Canada
Publishing and Depository Services
350 Albert Street, 4th Floor
Ottawa ON K1A 0S5

or

Copyright.Droitdauteur@pwgsc.gc.ca

 

Third-party Materials

Questions or comments regarding this policy, or the administration of the Privacy Act at the Office of the Correctional Investigator may be directed to the Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator by e-mail to manuel.marques@oci-bec.gc.ca or by calling 613-991-9002. If you are not satisfied that we have adequately respected your privacy, you may wish to contact the Office of the Privacy Commissioner by calling 1-800-282-1376 or via the Internet at http://www.priv.gc.ca.

 

ONLINE POLICY

These documents were prepared under the direction of the Office of the Correctional Investigator. Although every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of its contents, the Office of the Correctional Investigator assumes no liability for the accuracy or reliability of the information contained herein.

Reproduction in whole or in part by any means is permitted, subject to the following restrictions:

  • Physical copies must not be sold.
  • Access to electronically stored copies must not require an incremental fee beyond customary subscription fees and costs of connection time.
  • The author and the Department must be acknowledged as the source on all copies.
  • Translations and modifications are not permitted.

Other requests for permission to re-publish should be addressed to the Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada, Canada Communication Group.

Avis

Déclaration sur la protection des renseignements personnels du gouvernement de Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada (GC) et le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel (BEC) s'engagent à protéger les renseignements personnels des visiteurs sur leurs sites Web. La présente page précise les pratiques et la politique en matière de protection des renseignements personnels qui sont fournis sur les sites Web de le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel.

Les sites Web de le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel insèrent parfois des cookies dans les ordinateurs des visiteurs. Les cookies sont des outils souvent utilisés afin de permettre aux développeurs de sites Web d'améliorer les sites en fonction des tendances observées dans les activités des utilisateurs. Les cookies enregistrent les renseignements concernant votre ordinateur de la manière indiquée ci-dessous. Les cookies servent d'étiquettes génériques nous permettant de dire comment vous naviguez sur notre site, ce qui nous aide à déterminer comment nous pouvons l'améliorer.

Les cookies sont réglés de manière à ce qu'ils restent dans votre ordinateur pendant un certain nombre d'années comme l'impose la technologie Internet Server qu'emploie le BEC pour leur site Web. Les cookies nous aident à comprendre la circulation sur le site Web. Les renseignements recueillis à l'aide de cookies sont enregistrés dans des fichiers journaux standard pour serveur Web et des rapports sont produits chaque mois.

En outre, les cookies peuvent recueillir des renseignements que les visiteurs peuvent fournir à propos de ce qui est important pour eux ou de ce qui ne l'est pas, et cela nous aide à concentrer nos efforts sur les renseignements dont vous avez besoin. Pour ce genre de cookies, on vous demandera explicitement de fournir les renseignements, vous aurez le choix de le faire ou non et votre capacité d'utiliser le site ne dépendra pas de cette décision.

Voici la liste des renseignements que nous recueillons lorsque vous visitez notre site :

  • le nom de votre fournisseur d'accès Internet, son adresse IP et le nom du serveur de votre fournisseur d'accès. Le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel ne tente pas de relier ces adresses aux personnes qui visitent son site;
  • la durée de chaque visite;
  • le nombre de demandes par visite;
  • votre genre de système d'exploitation (Windows, Macintosh, Unix, etc.);
  • votre genre de navigateur (Firefox, Internet Explorer, etc.).

Nous ne relions ces renseignements à aucun autre renseignement que vous nous donnez volontairement lorsque vous visitez notre site sans notification explicite du contraire.

Un cookie est un petit fichier-texte qui est stocké sur votre disque dur. Lorsque vous visitez un site Web, votre navigateur échange des renseignements avec le serveur du site Web. Les cookies facilitent cet échange en rappelant au serveur quel ordinateur fait la demande. Vous n'êtes pas obligé d'accepter les cookies pour visiter notre site.

Vous pouvez ajuster votre navigateur pour qu'il détecte et rejette les cookies.

Si vous utilisez Internet Explorer :

  • Choisissez le menu Outils, puis les options Internet.
  • Choisissez l'onglet Sécurité, cliquez sur la zone que vous voulez modifier puis sur le bouton Personnaliser le niveau.
  • Faites défiler le menu vers le bas jusqu'à ce que vous atteigniez l'en-tête Cookies et choisissez la façon dont vous désirez que les cookies soient traités. Vous pouvez choisir d'accepter les cookies de tous les sites, de refuser tous les cookies ou d'être avisé chaque fois qu'un site veut vous en envoyer.

Si vous utilisez Firefox, vous pouvez choisir d'accepter ou non les cookies :

  • Passant par le menu Tools, choisissez Options puis choisissez Privacy.
  • Choisissez comment vous voudriez manipuler des biscuits avec l'option "Accept cookies from sites".

Pour les navigateurs moins communs, référez-vous svp au contenu d'aide de navigateur

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires au sujet de cette politique ou de l'application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels à le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel, communiquez avec des services administratifs de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels par courrier électronique à Louise.Cormier@sp.gc.ca ou par téléphone au 613-949-0360. Si vous estimez que vos renseignements personnels n'ont pas été protégés, vous pouvez communiquer avec le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada par téléphone au 1-800-282-1376 ou par Internet à l'adresse suivante : http://www.priv.gc.ca.

 

Avis concernant les langues officielles

LeBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel observe les dispositions de la Loi sur les langues officielles et les politiques pertinentes du Conseil du Trésor et s'engage à faire en sorte que tous les éléments d'information et les services offerts sur ce site soient disponibles en français et en anglais (ou dans l'une ou l'autre des langues officielles uniquement s'il s'agit d'un bureau unilingue). Les utilisateurs doivent prendre note, toutefois, que certains éléments d'information provenant de sources externes qui ne sont pas assujetties à la Loi sur les langues officielles sont fournis pour le bénéfice des utilisateurs seulement et ne peuvent être consultés que dans la langue employée dans ces sites.

 

Avis concernant l'établissement d'hyperliens

Les liens vers les sites Web ne relevant pas de l'autorité du gouvernement du Canada (GDC) sont fournis aux utilisateurs uniquement pour des raisons de commodité. Le GDC n'est pas responsable de l'exactitude, de l'actualité ni de la fiabilité du contenu. Il n'offre aucune garantie à cet égard et n'est pas responsable des renseignements associés à ces liens, pas plus qu'il ne cautionne ces sites ou leur contenu.

Les utilisateurs doivent être au courant de la possibilité que les renseignements offerts dans des sites, non soumis à l'autorité du GDC, qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi sur les langues officielles et auxquels leBureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel comporte des liens, ne puissent être consultés que dans la(les) langue(s) employées dans ces sites.

 

Droit d'auteur et droit de reproduction

Le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel a produit ou compilé les documents publiés sur ce site Web afin de pouvoir donner aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes un accès direct à l'information sur les programmes et les services du gouvernement du Canada.

Les documents contenus sur ce site sont protégés par les dispositions de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur, les lois, les politiques et les règlements du Canada, ainsi que par des accords internationaux. Ces dispositions permettent d'identifier la source de l'information et, dans certains cas, d'interdire la reproduction de documents sans l'obtention préalable d'une permission par écrit.

Reproduction à des fins non commerciales

  • L’information présentée sur le présent site web a été affichée pour être accessible à des fins personnelles ou publiques mais non commerciales, et peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie, et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais ni autre permission, à moins d’avis contraire.
  • On demande aux utilisateurs :
    • De faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en assurant l’exactitude du matériel reproduit;
    • D’indiquer le titre complet du matériel reproduit et l’organisation qui en est l’auteur;
    • D’indiquer que la reproduction est une copie d’un document officiel publié par le gouvernement du Canada et que la reproduction n’a pas été faite en association avec le gouvernement du Canada ni avec l’appui de celui-ci.
  • À moins d’avis contraire, la présente autorisation s’applique également à toutes les publications, peu importe leur format.

Reproduction à des fins commerciales

La copie multiple de documents présents sur ce site, en tout ou en partie, pour diffusion commerciale est interdite sauf avec la permission écrite de l'administrateur du droit d'auteur du gouvernement du Canada, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC). En autorisant la copie, TPSGC peut s'assurer que les personnes ou les organisations qui désirent copier des documents du gouvernement du Canada à des fins commerciales ont accès aux versions les plus exactes et à jour.

Pour obtenir la permission de copier les documents présents sur ce site à des fins commerciales, veuillez aller à la page de TPSGC « Application pour l'affranchissement de droit d'auteur pour les oeuvres du Gouvernement du Canada ».

Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada
Éditions et Services de dépôt
350, rue Albert, 4e étage
Ottawa ON K1A 0S5

ou

Copyright.Droitdauteur@tpsgc.gc.ca

 

Documents de tiers

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires au sujet de cette politique ou de l'application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels au Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel, communiquez avec le coordonateur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels par courrier électronique à manuel.marques@oci-bec.gc.ca  ou par téléphone au 613-991-9002. Si vous estimez que vos renseignements personnels n'ont pas été protégés, vous pouvez communiquer avec le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada par téléphone au 1-800-282-1376 ou par Internet à l'adresse suivante : http://www.priv.gc.ca.

 

Politique sur les documents électronique

Ces documents furent préparés sous la direction du bureau de l'Enquêteur correctionnel. Bien qu'il se soit efforcé de s'assurer de l'exactitude de leur contenu, le bureau de l'Enquêteur correctionnel n'assume aucune responsabilité quant à la véracité ou la fiabilité des renseignements qu'on y trouve.

Toute reproduction, totale ou partielle, est permise, mais sujette aux restrictions suivantes:

  • aucune copie papier ne peut être vendue;
  • l'accès aux copies électroniques ne doit entraîner aucuns frais, si ce n'est les frais d'abonnement habituels et les coûts reliés au temps de connexion;
  • l'auteur et le Ministère doivent être reconnus comme la source de toute copie;
  • toute traduction et toute modification sont interdites.

Toute autre demande d'autorisation de reproduire doit être adressée au ministre des Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, Groupe Communication Canada.