BACKGROUNDER
Missed Opportunities: The Experience of Young Adults Incarcerated
in Federal Penitentiaries

Overview

  • The Office of the Correctional Investigator (OCI) partnered with Ontario’s Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth (OPACY) in conducting an investigation examining the experiences and vulnerabilities of young adults 18 to 21 years of age in federal custody. 
  • The partnership provided perspective on the trajectories of young people, how they come into conflict with the criminal justice system and how some “graduate” from the youth to the adult correctional system.  Working in collaboration yielded investigative findings that are both comprehensive and constructive.

Why We Did this Investigation

  • The Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) has done very little over the years with respect to correctional policy or program development for younger individuals in its care despite numerous recommendations from the Office and the Ontario Coroner’s Inquest examining the death of Ashley Smith. 
  • The distinction made between the youth and adult criminal justice systems is arbitrary.  Reaching the age of eighteen is not indicative of full physical and psychosocial development, but is still the point at which the legal system designates full culpability and criminal responsibility.     
  • Young adult offenders have distinct needs and limited life experiences and it is only because they have reached the age of 18 that they are serving a federal sentence in an adult institution. 
  • The period of development between adolescence to adulthood is complex.  Research suggests that brain development continues until about the age of twenty-five.  Significant changes occur during this period impacting behaviours such as self-control, decision-making, emotional regulation, risk-taking and impulse control.

What We Did

  • We conducted individual interviews with 94 young adult offenders 18 to 21 years of age (87 males and 7 females) in four regions (Ontario, Quebec, Atlantic and Prairie) at all levels of security (minimum, medium and maximum).
  • We reviewed relevant law and policy as well as best practices from a number of countries. 
  • Fifteen CSC staff members who work with young adults were also interviewed.    

What We Found

  • In 2015-16, young adult offenders comprised 2.7% (or 396 individuals, 17 women and 379 men) of the total federal inmate population (14,643).  Young Indigenous inmates represented nearly 2 in 5 inmates 18-21 years of age (38.4%) in federal custody.  Young Black inmates represented 12% of the young adult inmate population.  
  • When compared to other inmates, those 18 to 21 years of age serving a determinate sentence were more likely to: be serving a shorter sentence, have education and employment needs, be convicted of a violent offence (robbery and assault most common) and have a gang affiliation.
  • There were missed opportunities to have intervened early in the lives of some of these individuals and their families.  Many of those interviewed dropped out of school early, had substance abuse problems, were involved with the youth criminal justice system, bounced between foster homes and group homes or had parents struggling with addictions.  Only a very few individuals reported receiving any professional or social services assistance.
  • While in federal custody, almost all young adults reported doing very little in terms of productive or rehabilitative activities.  The majority were not attending correctional programs or education classes (they were often waitlisted).  The few who were working were often doing jobs that required limited skills such as cleaning the range.  Given that many young adults have short sentences, the focus should be on structuring their day with constructive and productive activities to better prepare them for community reintegration. 
  • Correctional programs are not tailored or adapted to meet the distinct needs of young adults.  While some young adults described parts of programs that were helpful, many reported difficulty relating certain aspects of the program to their own experience.   Those who had a positive experience reported Program Facilitators who met with them individually and modified the program to their experience and understanding.  
  • CSC provides very little programming for offenders outside of formal correctional programs.  Many expressed a desire to have life skills programming focussed on the needs of young adults (i.e. resume building, job searching, budgeting, parenting, meal preparation, etc.).    
  • There is a lack of consistent and meaningful support for young adults within federal institutions.  Many young adults reported meeting with their Institutional Parole Officer, on average, once every two months, despite the fact that many would be released within the next six months on statutory release. 
  • Young adults are over-represented in admissions to segregation and in use of force incidents, particularly young Indigenous offenders.
  • There is a significant young Indigenous population in the Prairie region, many of whom are gang affiliated.  CSC lacks a comprehensive national gang disaffiliation strategy responsive to Indigenous offenders.   

Recommendations

The report makes 20 recommendations.  One recommendation was made by the Advocate’s Office and another was jointly supported by both offices.  Among others, the recommendations include the following:

  • The Ontario Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth recommends that this report be shared with provincial/territorial counterparts, including Ministries responsible for community safety and correctional services and child and youth services in order to identify gaps and opportunities for improvement of provincial/territorial services.
  • The Correctional Investigator recommends that federal corrections implement a presumptive prohibition on the use of administrative segregation for young adults under the age of 21.  This presumptive prohibition should be incorporated into law.
  • The Correctional Investigator recommends that some institutional and community Parole Officers, with a special aptitude and interest for working with young adults, be specially trained as youth care counsellors. 
  • The Correctional Investigator recommends that CSC develop a separate Commissioner’s Directive specific to young adult offenders which ensures that the specific needs and interests of this group, including racialized young adults, are identified and met.
  • We recommend that the current study be brought forward to the Federal-Provincial-Territorial Ministers Responsible for Justice and Public Safety for review and consideration.

FICHE D’INFORMATION
Occasions manquées : L’expérience des jeunes adultes
incarcérés dans les pénitenciers fédéraux

Aperçu

  • Le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel (BEC), en partenariat avec le Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes de l’Ontario, a mené une enquête portant sur l’expérience et les vulnérabilités des jeunes adultes de 18 à 21 ans en établissement fédéral. 
  • Ce partenariat a permis d’obtenir une perspective sur les trajectoires suivies par les jeunes, sur la manière dont ils ont des démêlés avec le système de justice pénale et sur la façon dont certains d’entre eux passent du système correctionnel pour les jeunes à celui pour adultes. Ce travail de collaboration a donné des conclusions d’enquête à la fois structurées et constructives.

La raison de cette enquête

  • Le Service correctionnel du Canada (SSC) a déployé très peu d’efforts au fil des ans en ce qui a trait à l’élaboration de politiques ou de programmes correctionnels pour les plus jeunes délinquants sous sa responsabilité malgré les nombreuses recommandations du Bureau et de l’enquête du coroner de l’Ontario concernant le décès d’Ashley Smith.
  • La distinction entre le système de justice pénale pour jeunes et celui pour adultes est arbitraire. Atteindre l’âge de 18 ans n’est pas synonyme d’un développement physique et psychosocial complet, mais cet âge est tout de même celui auquel le système juridique attribue une entière culpabilité et une entière responsabilité criminelle.    
  • Les jeunes délinquants adultes ont des besoins distincts et leur expérience de vie est limitée. Ce n’est que parce qu’ils ont atteint l’âge de la majorité qu’ils purgent une peine de ressort fédéral dans un établissement pour adultes. 
  • La période de développement entre l’adolescence et l’âge adulte est complexe.  Selon les recherches, le cerveau continue de se développer jusqu’à environ 25 ans. Des changements importants se produisent pendant cette période et ils ont une incidence sur les comportements tels que la maîtrise de soi, la prise de décisions, la maîtrise émotionnelle, la prise de risques et le contrôle des impulsions.

Démarche suivie

  • Nous avons mené des entrevues individuelles auprès de 94 jeunes délinquants adultes de 18 à 21 ans (87 hommes et 7 femmes) dans quatre régions (Ontario, Québec, Atlantique et Prairies) à tous les niveaux de sécurité (minimale, moyenne et maximale).
  • Nous avons examiné les lois et politiques pertinentes ainsi que les pratiques exemplaires de nombreux pays. 
  • Nous avons aussi interviewé 15 employés du SSC qui travaillent avec les jeunes adultes.    

Constatations

  • En 2015-2016, les jeunes délinquants adultes représentaient 2,7 % (ou 396 personnes, 17 femmes et 379 hommes) de la population carcérale totale sous responsabilité fédérale (14 643). Les jeunes détenus autochtones représentaient près de deux détenus de 18 à 21 ans sous responsabilité fédérale sur cinq (38,4 %). Les jeunes détenus noirs représentaient 12 % de la population de jeunes détenus adultes.  
  • Lorsqu’on les compare aux autres détenus, les détenus de 18 à 21 ans purgeant une peine d’une durée déterminée étaient plus susceptibles de purger une peine plus courte, d’avoir des besoins en matière d’éducation et d’emploi, d’être reconnus coupables d’un acte de violence (les vols et les voies de fait étant les plus courants) et d’appartenir à un gang.
  • Il y a eu des occasions manquées d’intervention précoce dans la vie de certains de ces délinquants et de leurs familles. Bon nombre des délinquants interviewés ont quitté l’école tôt, ont eu des problèmes de toxicomanie, ont eu des démêlés avec le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents, sont passés d’un foyer d’accueil ou de groupe à l’autre ou ont eu des parents aux prises avec des problèmes de dépendance. Très peu d’entre eux ont indiqué avoir reçu de l’aide professionnelle ou de l’aide des services sociaux.
  • Presque tous les jeunes adultes ont indiqué que, pendant leur incarcération en établissement fédéral, ils avaient fait très peu d’activités productives ou d’activités de réhabilitation. La majorité d’entre eux ne participaient à aucun programme correctionnel ni à aucun cours (souvent inscrits sur des listes d’attente). Les quelques jeunes qui travaillaient avaient souvent un emploi nécessitant peu de compétences, comme l’entretien ménager de la rangée. Puisque bon nombre des jeunes adultes purgent de courtes peines, il faudrait se concentrer à structurer leurs journées avec des activités constructives et productives afin de mieux les préparer à la réinsertion sociale dans la collectivité. 
  • Les programmes correctionnels ne sont pas conçus ou adaptés pour répondre aux besoins distincts des jeunes adultes. Certains jeunes adultes ont indiqué que certaines parties des programmes étaient utiles, mais bon nombre ont mentionné qu’ils avaient de la difficulté à établir un rapport entre certains aspects du programme et leur propre expérience. Ceux qui ont eu une expérience positive ont mentionné que des intervenants de programme les avaient rencontrés individuellement et avaient modifié le programme en fonction de leur expérience et de leur compréhension.  
  • Le SSC offre très peu de programmes autres que les programmes correctionnels officiels. Bon nombre des jeunes adultes souhaitaient avoir des programmes de préparation à la vie active axés sur les besoins des jeunes adultes (c.-à-d. rédaction de curriculum vitae, recherche d’emploi, établissement d’un budget, éducation des enfants, préparation des repas, etc.).   
  • Il n’y a pas de soutien cohérent et utile pour les jeunes adultes dans les établissements fédéraux. De nombreux jeunes adultes ont indiqué qu’ils avaient rencontré leur agent de libération conditionnelle en établissement, en moyenne, tous les deux mois, même si bon nombre d’entre eux devaient être mis en liberté d’office dans les six prochains mois. 
  • Les jeunes adultes, notamment les jeunes délinquants autochtones, sont surreprésentés en ce qui a trait aux admissions en isolement et aux incidents de recours à la force.
  • Il y a une importante population de jeunes Autochtones dans la région des Prairies, et bon nombre d’entre eux sont affiliés à un gang. Le SSC n’a pas de stratégie nationale exhaustive de désaffiliation aux gangs qui est adaptée aux besoins des délinquants autochtones.   

Recommandations

Le rapport présente 20 recommandations. Une des recommandations a été formulée par le Bureau de l’intervenant provincial et une autre a présentée conjointement par les deux bureaux. Parmi les recommandations, notons les suivantes :

  • Le Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes de l’Ontario recommande que le rapport soit transmis à ses homologues des provinces et des territoires, notamment aux ministères responsables de la sécurité communautaire, des services correctionnels et des services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse, afin de cerner les lacunes et les possibilités d’amélioration des services provinciaux et territoriaux.
  • L’enquêteur correctionnel recommande que le système correctionnel fédéral mette en place une interdiction présumée de recourir à l’isolement préventif pour les jeunes adultes de moins de 21 ans. Cette interdiction présumée devrait être intégrée dans la loi.
  • L’enquêteur correctionnel recommande que certains agents de libération conditionnelle en établissement et dans la collectivité, ayant une aptitude particulière et un intérêt à travailler avec les jeunes adultes, reçoivent une formation spéciale à titre de conseillers en soins pour les jeunes.
  • L’enquêteur correctionnel recommande que le SSC élabore une directive du commissaire distincte sur les jeunes adultes délinquants qui veille à cerner les besoins et les intérêts des membres de ce groupe, y compris les jeunes adultes racialisés, et à y répondre.
  • Nous recommandons que la présente étude soit portée à l’attention des ministres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux responsables de la justice et de la sécurité publique aux fins d’examen.